Instagram Now Tells You When Someone Screenshots Your Story

Sad news for those of us who love screenshotting Instagram stories!

Instagram is testing a feature that will show users when someone else takes a screenshot of their story.

Users included in the test are getting a warning that the next time they take a screenshot of a friend’s story the friend will be able to see it, as shown below:

 

The Stories feature tells you who has watched your story when you tap on the “seen by” area in the bottom left corner. 

With this new feature, a circle shutter icon will display next to the name of the account that has screen grabbed your content. 

To be clear, the story owners won’t be alerted when someone takes a screenshot, they can only tell after manually checking the “seen by” list.

 

Don't worry there are workarounds to avoid being detected though, as some Twitter users have pointed out.

You can set your phone to airplane mode and then screenshot or you can view the Instagram story via web browser on desktop and safely screenshot from there.

Lori

Lori

Listen to Lori on Shenandoah Country Q102 Weekdays from 10am-3pm on our iHeartRadio App! Read more

title

Content Goes Here